CWI issues new retainer contracts

first_img– Lewis denies white ball offerCricket West Indies (CWI) has confirmed that central contracts for Windies Men’s and Women’s players for the 2018/2019 year have been issued.The previous contracts expired on September 30th 2018, but the new contracts will be backdated to July 1st 2018 and run until June 30, 2019, as CWI aligns all players on the same contract period (Franchise contracts used to expire on July 31st and WINDIES contracts on September30th).Cricket West Indies’ Chief Executive Officer Johnny Grave says “All Windies and Franchise players are now contracted from the 1st of July to the 30th of June, with their performances assessed from the 1st of April to the 31st of March. This will allow for a more efficient process of reviewing, renewing, and awarded contracts within West Indies professional cricket, and give everyone at least three months to plan for the season ahead.“Our season will start each year with the Caribbean Premier League, followed by the Super50 Cup, and finish on the 4-Day competition.”The decision to offer all-format, red and white ball contracts, according to Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne, “allows for the better management of players as it relates to their development. At the time of recommending contracts in June, some players would have developed in different formats after the process had finished, so their recent performances can’t be considered until the next contract cycle.”The full contracts list is:All Format Retainers – Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph and Kemar RoachRed Ball Retainers — Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer and Kieran Powell.Development Retainers – Sunil Ambris, Keemo Paul and Raymon ReiferWhite Ball Retainers – Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse and Rovman PowellEvin Lewis was offered a white ball contract, but declined.New players on retainers are Kemar Roach, Sunil Ambris, Keemo Paul and Raymon ReiferWindies Women – Merissa Aguilleira, Raniece Boyce, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Akeira Peters, Shakera Selman and Stafanie Taylorlast_img read more